When Your Client Has a Fair Housing Complaint

Return to all

If you have a client who has a potential fair housing complaint, take their claims seriously. When a consumer feels discriminated against, they likely don’t need you to talk through it with them — they need you as their REALTOR® to be a resource.

The FHA, to date, includes seven protected classes: race, color, religion, national origin, sex, disability, and familial status. This last term refers to the presence of at least one child under 18 years old and also protects prospects and tenants who are pregnant or in the process of adopting a child.

Let your client know:

  • They can file a complaint at no cost.
  • They can file a complaint online, by mail, or by phone
  • HUD (the Department of Housing and Urban Development) takes all fair housing complaints seriously, responds to each, and refers them to the correct authority

The process for filing a fair housing complaint is spelled out on the HUD website.

You can also be a resource to your potential clients who don’t have a discrimination complaint — simply to those whom you assist with their home buying and -selling needs — read more here.

Being a resource for our clients and consumers is part of our role as a REALTOR® — not only does it help to build trust and credibility, but it’s simply the right thing to do.

Want to know more about the Fair Housing Act and the protected classes and how they affect your business, your advertising, and the way you work with clients? Read more here!